Easy Package (Mod) Management?

tl;dr: Wouldn’t it be cool to have a simple way for users/developers to manage their modpack dependencies much like existing package managers?

Just a heads up that I have no prior experience in the modding community on the dev side, so I may not be aware of the tool I’m trying to describe and I’ve also not played modded minecraft for a while either (but getting back into it) - but a brief look online didn’t turn it up, so I could simply be looking in the wrong direction

THE DREAM

What if there was some package manager (let’s call it patch or some other play on Quilt) that allowed me (as a developer) to install dependencies just as easily as I can install Node or Python packages? Let’s say I create a mod that depends on some other mod, ores_galore (which hypothetically provides the MC world with a whole new stack of ores) by simply installing the dependency: patch install ores_galore, much like npm or pip. Installing the dependency should then add it to what would be the equivalent of the package.json for npm and the dependencies/dependents could then be reported on the mod’s page (e.g. stats on modrinth). Now when users try to use this mod, I (as a developer) can have an expectation that they will have my required dependencies installed (I swear launching Forge modpack servers just always creates a sea of red error text, and I always wondered if this was a compatibility/dependency thing…).

In theory, for a modpack creator, they would only need to create and manage a package-lock.json-esque file. This would allow them to manage their dependencies to try and ensure they’re providing a stable modpack for the users. Alternatively, a bleeding edge package.json may be subject to breaking changes within the dependencies, but would be providing the most up-to-date experience.