Unable to properly install quiltMC server

Hi there! I do apologize if this is question is a bit too similar to other questions but I couldn’t find anything specific to my question so hopefully it’s okay to post this.

I’m trying to install quilt for a personal server, as instructed on your website. The first time I installed it, the only files in the server folder were the ones under the “library” folder - the two launcher JARs were missing. So I was confused and looked up what to do about it, and found out they were just missing. Oh okay, so I reinstalled the server and realized it manually unclicked the “download server .jar” option (which was enabled by default) when I was choosing my selections. I figured that must have been the culprit, reinstalled, and sure enough the two .jars appeared. Perfect!

Foolishly, because I’m not a programmer and didn’t know how exactly to make a .bat folder, I clicked on the two .jars seeing if they would let me run the server without running the .bat. No luck so I tried doing the .bat. I got a crash report that I couldn’t read (again, not a programmer). But I figured it had to be because of the extra files running the two .jars had created, and decided to just re-install the server and move the other to my recycling bin.

But when I did that, the .jars weren’t present in the new file. Concerned, I figured the problem must somehow be that the two .jars are present in another folder in my recycling bin (I know there is no logical reason for this). So of course, like a logical person (I am being sarcastic) I deleted it. Tried installing it again and the .jars still aren’t there. Uh oh! Tried re-installing the installer, no luck. Tried restarting my computer, no luck.